Pix 11.04.10

This giant cactus sits in a front yard I drive by every day. It’s shaped like a menorah gone crazy and it’s so large you could probably set up a 2-man tent under it if you wanted to pretend you were camping in the desert. Most of the year its branches are bare except for the spiky seams that run up and down its ridges. At Christmas the owners carefully wrap each section of it with tiny lights. About once a year I pass by and am stopped in my tracks by the sheer beauty of the hundred or so flowers that it has draped itself in. Hiding amongst the pale yellow flowers and silver-green stalks are lumps that look like someone has decorated it with plums.

Yesterday I could no longer pass by without taking a picture of it. It was early, the sun was still making its way up the sky. I noticed most of the flowers were pointed instead of open. (Do they do what morning glories do?) In the few minutes it took me to run home and grab my camera they had already begun to open. As I stepped forward to see the flowers more closely I noticed a mini swarm of bees that must have thought, like me, they had “struck the mother load”.

Share

2 responses to “Pix 11.04.10

  1. Amazing Cindy! Hope you are doing well!!!!

Leave a Reply

